Posted by: sigourneyweaverfan | January 23, 2010

Review: Saturday Night Live (Jan. 16, 2010)

I decided to make some time to review last Saturday’s episode of SNL, which – as you probably all know – was hosted by our Sigourney, funny as ever 😀

What did you think of the episode? Which sketches did you enjoy the most? Feel free to comment and to post your own review!

The Monologue
Ms. Weaver definitely knows how to hold an audience. The monologue is over three-minute long (fortunately not too short), and there are plenty of jokes to laugh at. Personally, I loved the part when Kristen startles her, and right after that Sigourney asks her “Are you an alien? You have to tell me, if you are.” That had me crack up. Plus, they showed a beautiful photo of Sigourney as a little girl with her mom and dad. How cute was she?!

Grady Wilson’s Fifty and Freaky
I’ve never been a big fan of this sketch. I don’t know, I guess I’ve always found it a little too repetitive and obvious. Still, Sigourney managed to steal the scene and actually made it pretty good, too! It’s not just the way she’s dressed up. Her whole character’s attitude (each smile, each glance…) is hilarious.

Summer’s Eve Lady Stars of Darts Championship
The sketch was not bad at all. It’s a shame Sigourney has very little screen time in it…

Laser Cats 5 (Digital Short)

Probably the episode’s finest moment. I’d dare define Laser Cats 5 as an instant cult. It has it all: great jokes/references, Jim Cameron, Ripley (watching Sigourney playing this role again – even in this silly silly version of the character – made me realize I could kill for an Alien 5 movie)… What more do you want?

Disco Booty Junction

Sigourney gets some fairly funny moments as airheaded singer Cream (or Amber?), but the script seemed like the weakest of the entire episode. Too bad.

Na’vi Intecourse

This sketch felt like it was written on the sole purpose of promoting Avatar. Sigourney didn’t really have much to do in it.

Riley

Once again, I think Sigourney wasn’t given enough space.

Sigourney’s Web Obsession
I adored this one. Definitely my favourite sketch, I think I have rewatched it over and over again at least a million times. Sigourney is fantastic and her performance so ironic. Best line: “I should slap her in her bitch mouth. I’m Sigourney freaking Weaver!!!”. Brilliant.

Fire and Rice

Sigourney can act (funnily) scared, that’s for sure. It’s exhilarating seeing her desperately holding on to that piano. “I’m peeing!”. Rotfl!

Overall, I really enjoyed watching this SNL. It had some awsome skits, and Sigourney confirmed herself as a wonderful actress (even when underused).

Leave a Reply

Categories

